letter-writing, bicycles, silly t-shirts, and such

here’s a bit of small talk:

oh, letter-writing. that long-lost artform whose practice now leaves a deeper impression because of its rarity. i want to recover it in my life, though it takes so much will-power to step away from the more plugged in diversions and sit down with pen in hand to write. when you write a letter, you feel as though you ought to say something Very Special, because it is in ink. goodness! here i was writing to chelsea, that sister of my heart, whose daily company i deeply miss. and i am writing on the stationary given me by my other dear chelsea, who is the best gift giver and spoils me when i haven’t enough courage to spoil myself. and, i was eating pasta. mid afternoon pasta. yes.

the other day tim called me while i was at work, and he was about town with a client. they had happened upon a yard sale and at this yard sale was a vintage schwinn bicycle with flat tires and the remnants of still living vines clinging to the spokes of the wheels. he wondered could he buy it, even thought funds are a bit tight, because this could be The First Bike I Fix Up. it would be really wonderful, couldn’t i see? and when it was finished, he could give it to brother jonny, who needs a bike. and so, because he believes in my creative pursuits, and let me spend $50 on a sewing machine this fall, i said yes.

the other day at [another] yard sale we stumbled upon a children’s shirt featuring darth vader. we bought if for our nephew sam (even though it won’t fit him for years perhaps, we know). but one morning as we were leaving the house to get some breakfast with the aforementioned gift-giving chelsea, i put it on as a joke. my mid-driff showed. tim said i ought to go ahead and wear it to breakfast anyway. so, here i am. no, i am not a star wars fan. at all.

and then there is salad. oh, the glorious greens being grown these days. we have a CSA share at Big Oak now, and that means we’re getting lettuces. so i’ve made salads for the children and yes, they do eat them! they love it. i made the salad above for us to eat at home. it featured red leaf lettuce, sprouts, raspberries, walnuts, scallions, and goat cheese. the dressing was made of rice vinegar, honey, grapeseed oil, garlic, lime juice, and a bit of salt and pepper. yes, it was lovely. we had smoothies with it, too.

and, we had to bid farewell to this one last weekend. i wrote more about her here.

we went to see our friend dustin pence play some music at Cafe Zoma. he’s really excellent. and if i had a link to send you to to get some of his music, i would do that here.

and tomorrow we are going to see patty griffin in concert at the house of blues. very last minute, slightly irresponsible (financially speaking), and also very awesome. (t is especially geeked about this).

how are things for you? what have you been up to?

2 thoughts on “letter-writing, bicycles, silly t-shirts, and such

  1. Letter writing is the best! I have three sisters & we’re all letter writers. There’s something so precious and delightful about finding a newsy letter in my box from one of them. An email isn’t the same & doesn’t convey the same things that letters between us do.
    The Star Wars shirt is funny, and so is something I recently discovered: Star Wars in concert. I was in St. Paul yesterday (visiting sisters) and saw it being advertised. It consists of a live orchestra playing the soundtrack while clips from the movie are being shown. Movie memorabilia are also part of a display for concert goers. I think this is geeky & cute for SW fans.
    I like you & I like getting these little glimpses. You make me appreciate life a little more. The gem I take away today: remembering how my husband supports my creativity & thinking about how I can better support his.

Leave a Reply

